Welcome, Autel Pilots!
Join our free Autel drone community today!
Join Us

Fly aways

Droneman Dan

Reaction score
Hello everyone. Im rather new at this. I may have 5 hours of flight time with my new drone. Its the X-Star premium. Ive experienced two fly aways with one ending in a crash. The warning about magnetic anomalies came on and then it read, ATTI mode will soon be activated. Im a little unnerved now about flying my drone. Has this happened to anyone and is there a way I can keep that from happening. Thanks guys

Reactions: JR Videography
It could be the environment you are flying in, or it could be hardware related. Hard to tell.
Are both fly a ways as you put them in the same location?
Is there a lot of Wi-Fi in the area?
What firmware are you on?
Have you done a compass calibration?
I would say your first step would be talking to Autel customer support.

Hello Droneman Dan, I had the same thing happen to me a year ago on my first day of flying over a school. I believe that the metal from a/c units on the roof caused this to happen, They (drones) do not like being on top of metal in Gps mode. I have only had this happen the one time,. I have changed my flying habits to flying at a higher altitudes (at least 200 ft.) and in more open spaces. Where were you flying at the time this happened? Altitude? The information you supply may help assist with your problem

Change locations and beware of man made areas that are also full of steel scrap from buildings etc. I also never fly with my car key fob in my pocket. Always caused magnetic interference.
Always set your RTH altitude to be sure your going to clear obstacles should it decide to kick in. But having said all this the new beta release has solved the magnetic interference issues i dealt with for a year plus.