Welcome, Autel Pilots!
Join our free Autel drone community today!
Join Us

New to Autel and looks like I got taken...

michidragon

Reaction score
So, I'm new to Autel drones. I'm new to this forum (signing up after I purchased) - but full admission, and I know that 99.9% of the responses here will be admonishing me for not knowing ahead of time:

Took delivery today of an Evo II Pro V3, unfortuantely from autelpilot.com. (I'm just finding out right now what a mistake this was and I'm sick to my stomach.)

The path I took to get this was, it was out of stock on the official Autel Robotics shop site, and I followed the links FROM their site, to online sellers. Autelpilot.com was the most prominent.

Firmware is updating fine, but issue seems to be: I'm 99% sure I got a nerfed CE version when i'm in the US.
The Autel Explorer app image transmission section shows no channel/frequency information, and there are only CE not FCC certs/labels on the thing.
So I'm guessing I have the low-power and no-900mhz version, which was part of the reason I got it. (Forested terrain here.)

From what I understand I can't register for Autel Care with this drone; that this site doesn't honor returns at all; and that I'm basically stuck with an out of warranty CE-version drone that I paid pretty much full price for. (The discounts were nothing enticing.)

I don't know if I have a case on contesting the charge on my credit card or something. Because it says all over the site that it's the 15km/9.3mi version - and from what I can tell, it surely is not. (It looks like Autel does not do 'one set of hardware, different profiles for different countries' like DJI does.)

.. Again I just got here and I'm hoping to hear some advice besides just ridicule for not being prescient. I had no way of knowing that a prominent shop was such a big problem, especially being linked from the Autel Robotics site.