Welcome, Autel Pilots!
Join our free Autel drone community today!
Join Us

At Home in March

Nice.. Mine crashed yesterday, and tumbled through a patch of trees.

Yesterday, I was at about 15 minutes on a flight, and just came off the water. I was flying over a wooded area at a park where I work as a Park Ranger.

The battery suddenly dropped to 6%. Landing now said the drone. I started running to the area about 1500 feet. Half way there, I heard a loud cracking/smacking noise so I thought it hit the ground somewhere. After searching the area for about 2-hours. I looked at the app, and it said the drone was at a 90-foot altitude. So I started scanning the tree tops with no luck.

Just as I was getting ready to leave. I heard a little faint squeal/scream form the drone. I ran to the area, and thankfully it let out one more little squeal, and there it was hanging sideways off an oak tree branch about 30-feet up surrounded by a patch of tall pines.

I dragged a tall heavy dead sapling from the forest, and after standing it up, I was able to slide it in between the drone's legs. As it started to slide down the sapling, I turned it sideways so it would not smash to the ground. The only damage was to the gimble pins, and props. I popped in another battery and did a small test flight, and everything seemed fine. There are some minor scratches. I have the crash recording.

It seems like it started making a slow landing, and then a sudden drop when it tumbled through many tree branches before finally getting tangled/stuck in one.

Last edited:
Sounds like you got lucky. Glad it was OK. Those battery drops really need to be addressed but as we all know Autel probably will not bother with any kind of update.

Looking forward to the video.

Sounds like you got lucky. Glad it was OK. Those battery drops really need to be addressed but as we all know Autel probably will not bother with any kind of update.

Looking forward to the video.